Andrew Klavan Biography, Age, Family, Wife, True Crime, Empire Of Lies


Andrew Klavan Biography

Andrew Klavan is an American writer of crime and suspense novels. He has been nominated for the Edgar Award five times and has won twice. Klavan has been dubbed by Stephen King “the most original American novelist of crime and suspense since Cornell Woolrich.

He has also worked in film and as an essayist and video satirist. Klavan hosts “The Andrew Klavan Show” podcast on The Daily Wire.

He attended University of California at Berkeley from where he graduated with a degree in English literature. He then worked as a reporter and a radio news writer before becoming a full-time writer. Klavan converted to christianity at the age of 49.

Andrew Klavan Age

Klavan was born on 13 July 1954 in New York City, New York, U.S. He is 65 years old as of 2019.

Andrew Klavan Family

Klavan was born to a secular Jewish family in New York City and grew up in Great Neck, Long Island. He was born one of four sons to father Gene Klavan, a New York disc jockey and mother Phyllis.

Andrew Klavan Photo

Andrew Klavan Wife

He is married to Ellen since 1980. The couple has two children together, Faith and spencer. Klavan and his wife live in Los Angeles.

Andrew Klavan Career

He began his crime-writing career using the pseudonym Keith Peterson. still under that name, he wrote the four John Wells mysteries, about a crime-solving newspaper reporter, and also The Scarred Man, his first full-blown novel of psychological suspense.

Under his name, he wrote such bestsellers as True Crime, Don’t Say a Word and Empire of Lies, as well as the popular Homelanders series for young adults. His novels have also been translated around the world. Klavan has won two Edgars from the Mystery Writers of America, the Thumping Good Read Award from W.H. Smith, and has been nominated for Anthony Awards and the International Thriller Writers award.

His book True Crime was filmed by Clint Eastwood in 1999. Don’t Say a Word was then filmed starring Michael Douglas in 2001. Donald Cammell’s White of the Eye 1987 based on the novel Mrs. White, which Klavan co-wrote under the pseudonym Margaret Tracy with his brother, playwright Laurence Klavan. He wrote the screenplay for the 1990 Michael Caine film Shock to the System, based on the novel by Simon Brett, and for the 2008 horror film One Missed Call, which starred Shannyn Sossamon and Ed Burns.

Klavan also wrote the screenplay for the award winning movie-in-an-app Haunting Melissa and its sequel, Haunting Melissa 2: Dark Hearts. Klavan recently scripted Gosnell, a crime film based on the true story of an abortion doctor charged with murder.

Being an essayist, Klavan has written for The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Washington Post and elsewhere. Being contributing editor to the Manhattan Institute’s City Journal, Klavan has produced articles ranging from an examination of the poet William Wordsworth to a description of his 2008 embed with American troops in Afghanistan.

He has also produced several satirical online video series including Klavan on the Culture for PJ Media, The Revolting Truth for TruthRevolt, and A Very Serious Commentary for Glenn Beck’s Blaze Media. Klavan has a daily podcast for the Daily Wire.

In 2016, Klavan’s first non-fiction book was published being named The Great Good Thing: A Secular Jew Comes to Faith in Christ. The book is a memoir of his spiritual journey. Klavan’s latest work of fiction is the fantasy-suspense serial podcast Another Kingdom, published in book form in 2019.

In 2019, in response to a tweet about a Vox article on the consequences of a war between the United States and Iran, he suggested that “Or [alternatively] Iran is blown off the face of the earth in about fifteen minutes and the world is better for it”.

True Crime Andrew Klavan

True Crime is an edge-of-the-seat suspense novel that graphically portrays the final moments leading up to a condemned killer’s appointment with the executioner. The plot is familiar but convincing: An inmate, Frank Beachum, denies any involvement in the murder of a young pregnant woman. His only chance for survival lies in the hands of a reporter, Steven Everett. From the very first page, Klavan does everything possible to make this journalist unlikable–he drinks too much, he’s committed adultery. In fact, the incarcerated Beachum, who stands accused of a hideous crime, comes across as a much more decent person than Everett.

Empire Of Lies Andrew Klavan

It is a thriller in which the protagonist and narrator Jason Harrow confronts both the death of his mentally-ill mother and the consequences of his past life. In so doing, he comes to believe he has stumbled on evidence of an Islamist terror plot in New York City, though he often doubts whether the plot is real or he is going insane like his mother.

Although he repeatedly struggles with his own moral weaknesses, Harrow is a politically conservative Christian, and his efforts to expose the suspected plot bring him into conflict with the police, entertainment industry, academia, and the news media — the “Empire of Lies” in the book’s title.

Andrew Klavan Net worth

The suspense writer has earned big from his writing career but his net worth is not yet disclosed.

Andrew Klavan Awards

He won the 1984 Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original for his book Mrs. White which he wrote under the pen-name Margaret Tracy. His novel Trapdoor was nominated in the Best Paperback Original Category in 1990. He also won the Edgar Award in the Best Paperback Original category for The Rain, as well as a nomination at the 1990 Anthony Awards for Rough Justice in the paperback category. He was nominated for an Edgar Award for Best Novel in 1992 for his first novel, Don’t Say a Word. Klavan received an Anthony Awards nomination at the 1996 ceremony for True Crime in the Best Novel category.

Andrew Klavan Books

  • Face of the Earth (1977)
  • Agnes Mallory (1985)
  • Mrs. White (1987) (as Margaret Tracy, with Laurence Klavan)
  • There Fell a Shadow (1988) (as Keith Peterson)
  • The Rain (1988) (as Keith Peterson)
  • Darling Clementine (1988)
  • The Trap Door (1988) (as Keith Peterson)
  • Son of Man (1988)
  • The Scarred Man (1989) (as Keith Peterson)
  • Rough Justice (1989) (as Keith Peterson)
  • Don’t Say a Word (1991)
  • The Animal Hour (1992)
  • Corruption (1993)
  • True Crime (1995)
  • Suicide (1995)
  • The Uncanny (1998)
  • Hunting Down Amanda (1999)
  • Man and Wife (2001)
  • Dynamite Road (2003)
  • Shotgun Alley (2004)
  • Damnation Street (2006)
  • Empire of Lies (2008)
  • The Identity Man (2010)
  • Crazy Dangerous (2012)
  • If We Survive (2012)
  • Nightmare City (2013)
  • A Killer in the Wind (2013)
  • Werewolf Cop (2016)
  • The Great Good Thing: A Secular Jew Comes to Faith in Christ (2016) [non-fiction]

Andrew Klavan Films

  • White of the Eye (1987)
  • A Shock to the System (1990) (Screenplay)
  • True Crime (1999)
  • Don’t Say a Word (2001)
  • One Missed Call (2008)
  • Gosnell: The Trial of America’s Biggest Serial Killer (2018)

Andrew Klavan Twitter

Andrew Klavan Instagram

Share post:



More like this

 Tony Too Turnt Bio, Age, Height, Weight, and Net Worth 2024

Tony Too Turnt also known as Anthony Johnson is ...

Francis Ogolla Bio: Age, wife, tribe, Family,career,Net worth 2024

Francis Ogolla Biography The Chief of Defense Forces, Francis...

Juliana Aiden Martinez: Unveiling Her Age, Boyfriend, Parents, Nationality, Net Worth 2024

Juliana Aiden Martinez Biography Juliana Aiden Martinez, a young American...
Click Here