Alafair Burke Age, Books, Husband, Long Gone, All Day & A Night

Date:

Alafair Burke Biography

Alafair Burke born Alafair S. Burke  is an American crime novelist, legal commentator, and professor of law. She is the New York Times bestselling author of two series of crime novels.

One features NYPD detective Ellie Hatcher; the other, Portland, Oregon, prosecutor Samantha Kincaid. More than a dozen languages have translated her books.

Alafair received her Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from Reed College, in Portland, Oregon. She completed the Senior Thesis “Emotion’s effects on memory: spatial narrowing of attention”.

Burke went on to Stanford Law School in California where she graduated as a member of Order of the Coif.

Alafair Burke Age

Alafair S. Burke was born On October 1969 in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Alafair Burke Family

Her mother, Pearl Pai Chu, was a school librarian and raised her primarily in Wichita, Kansas.

Her father, a fellow crime novelist James Lee Burke, was a professor of English.

Burke traces her fascination with crime to the hunt for the serial killer known as BTK, he was active in Wichita during the 1970s.

Alafair Burke Husband

She has been married to Sean Duncan Simpson since 2006.

Alafair Burke Career

After leaving law school, Alafair served as a judicial clerk to Betty Binns Fletcher of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. She then served as a Multnomah County Deputy District Attorney in Portland. She later prosecuted domestic violence offenses and served as an in-precinct advisor to the police department.

Burke lives in New York City and is a Professor of Law at Hofstra University School of Law. She has also served on the Board of Directors of the Mystery Writers of America and as President of its New York chapter. She was elected as a member of the American Law Institute in 2017.

Publisher Simon & Schuster announced that Mary Higgins Clark and Burke were collaborating on the Under Suspicion series in 2014, featuring an intrepid television journalist who reinvestigates cold cases.

Alafair was nominated for an Edgar Award for Best Novel for her book, The Ex in 2017.

The Ex Alafair Burke

In the breakout standalone novel of suspense in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on a Train, a lady agrees to help her old boyfriend who has been framed for murder. She eventually begins to suspect that she is the one being manipulated.

Long Gone Alafair Burke

In New York City’s aggressive world of art, the appearances can be deceiving. When an art world newcomer Alice Humphrey becomes a suspect in a gruesome murder at a Chelsea gallery, she is thrown into a dangerous labyrinth of intrigue, crime, and conspiracy.

Alice must now discover the truth behind the murder before the unsolved mystery claims her as its next victim.

All Day And A Night Alafair Burke

A new murder case with links to a convicted serial killer leads Ellie Hatcher a detective into a twisting investigation with explosive and deadly results in this superb mystery from the “terrific web spinner” Alafair Burke.

Psychotherapist Helen Brunswick is murdered in her Park Slope office and the entire city suspects her estranged husband.

The District Attorney’s office then received an anonymous letter. The author of the letter knows a chilling detail that police have kept secret.

Someone broke the victim’s bones after killing her, leaving injuries with markings similar to the signature previously used by a serial killer serving a life sentence for his crimes.

He claims that he was wrongly convicted and that the real killer is still at large, and is requesting release from prison.

Never Tell Alafair Burke

Detective Ellie Hatcher will have to uncover the truth behind the apparent suicide, despite the parents’ insistence that their daughter would never take her own life. The young woman was discovered deceased in her bathtub, with a handwritten suicide note located on her bed.

Dead Connection Alafair Burke

A rookie detective goes undercover on the Internet dating scene to draw out a serial killer who targets single women in Manhattan

212 A Novel By Alafair Burke

212 features hip, Ellie Hatcher a Manhattan-based detective. Fans of Lisa Gardner, Sandra Brown, Karin Slaughter, Harlan Coben, Sue Grafton, and PJ Tracy find it hard to put 212 down until the very last page.

If You Were Here Alafair Burke

McKenna Jordan a Manhattan journalist chases the story of an unidentified woman who heroically pulled a teenaged boy from subway tracks. Alafair locates a video that captures part of the incident.

She then thinks she has an edge on the competition scrambling to identify the mystery heroine. The resemblance of the woman in the video to Susan Hauptmann has shocked her. Alafair is a close friend who disappeared without a trace a decade earlier.

Mary Higgins Clark And Alafair Burke | Mary Higgins Clark Et Alafair Burke | Mary Higgins Clark Alafair Burke

Mary Higgins collaborated with Alafair Burke to publish several novels. The Cinderella Murder was the first book they published. It features characters Mary introduced in her novel, I’ve Got You Under My Skin.


The Cinderella Murder was the first collaboration novel Higgins wrote with an outside author. It was also the first time she had undertaken a continuing series.

Books By Mary Higgins Clark And Alafair Burke

Higgins and Burke have collaborated on several other books.

  • All Dressed in White (2015) 
  • The Sleeping Beauty Killer (2016) 
  • Every Breath You Take (2017) 
  • You Don’t Own Me (2018) 

Alafair Burke Ellie Hatcher Series

  • Dead Connection (Ellie Hatcher 1) (2007)
  • Angel’s Tip (Ellie Hatcher 2)
  • 212 (Ellie Hatcher 3) (2010)
  • Never Tell (Ellie Hatcher 4) (2012)
  • All Day and a Night (Ellie Hatcher 5) (2014)

Alafair Burke Samantha Kincaid Series

  • Judgement Calls (Samantha Kincaid 1) (2003)
  • Missing Justice (Samantha Kincaid 2) (2004)
  • Close Case (Samantha Kincaid 3) (2005)

Share post:

Subscribe

Popular

More like this
Related

Romantic Honeymoon Getaways in the USA

As you enter the enchanting realm of marital bliss,...

Exploring Culinary Delights: 7 Restaurants Near Wall Street Bull

Discover a world of culinary excellence near Wall Street...

Culinary Journey Across America: Exploring the Top 4 Local Eats in Each State

Embark on a culinary journey across America, an adventure that...

Nutrient-rich Delight: Exploring 6 Granola Benefits, a Scrumptious Recipe, and a Step-by-Step How-to Guide

In the dynamic landscape of contemporary nutrition, granola emerges...
Click Here